Journalism Hall of Fame Inductees

The Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame was implemented in 1973, and honors persons who have distinguished themselves in print journalism. Since the Hall of Fame started, 106 journalists have been inducted.

2017 Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame inductees:

Larry King, Omaha – A UNO journalism graduate, Larry King had a 40-year career at the Omaha World-Herald. He started out as a police reporter, court reporter, city hall reporter and statehouse reporter in Lincoln, then on to assistant metro editor, metro editor for 10 years, assistant managing editor and executive editor for 10 years. As the industry moved into digital products, he was named director of content initiatives for the World-Herald and later for BH Media, a company formed by the World-Herald as it purchased other newspapers. He was named senior vice president of news for BH Media as it expanded to a company with 31 dailies and numerous weeklies in the Midwest, South and East. He received the Alumni Achievement Award from the UNO Communications Department in 1986 and again in 2000. He retired from the World-Herald in 2015.

Maxine Moul, Lincoln – Maxine’s career has been as a community journalist, public servant and feminist. Her 45 years of service to Nebraska rural development began when she and her husband, Francis, purchased his hometown newspaper at Syracuse, NE, in 1971. As small-town entrepreneurs, they built their company to 120 employees, with five newspapers in Southeast Nebraska and a regional printing company. From 1991 to 1999, Moul led rural development efforts for Gov. Ben Nelson’s administration as lieutenant governor and director of the Nebraska Department of Economic Development, and she served as the first chair of the Nebraska Community Foundation, which now serves more than 250 communities. Moul was the Democratic candidate for Congress in the First District in 2006 and was President Obama’s appointee as Nebraska State Director of USDA Rural Development in 2009, serving until 2017. Moul received the Nebraskaland Foundation’s Pioneer Award in 2010 and was inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women’s Journalism Hall of Fame in 2013.

Eileen Wirth, Omaha – A Nebraska City native, Eileen Wirth, Ph.D., spent more than 40 years as a ground breaking woman journalist in her career as an Omaha World-Herald reporter, Union Pacific public relations writer, Creighton University professor and regional history author. She joined the World-Herald in 1969, one of the first women in city news. Wirth’s passion for advocating for social change led her into public relations and community service. She joined Union Pacific Railroad’s PR Department in 1980 and volunteered for public and Catholic education, refugees, service to girls and women, the Omaha Public Library, the Nebraska State Historical Society and the Omaha Press Club Foundation. In 1991 she joined Creighton University’s journalism department and received her doctorate from UNL. After becoming department chair in 1997, she led her department into innovations in digital journalism and a merger with computer science that gained national recognition. Wirth was inducted into the Marian Andersen Nebraska Women Journalists Hall of Fame in 2017 and the Omaha Press Club’s Journalists of Excellence Hall of Fame in 2016. Wirth’s books include her proudest accomplishment, “From Society Page to Front Page,” which chronicles the history of Nebraska’s women journalists from the 1860s to the 1970s. She retired in 2016 as professor emerita of journalism at Creighton University.  

2018 Journalism Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in June, and the Hall of Fame banquet and induction ceremonies will be held Friday evening, Oct. 19, 2018, at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel in downtown Lincoln. The event is sponsored by the Nebraska Press Association and the UNL College of Journalism and Mass Communications.


2016 Sharron Hollen
2016 G. Woodson “Woody” Howe
2016 Matt Waite
2016 J.P. O’Furey (posthumously)

2015 Lyle Denniston
2015 Richard “Dick” Fleming
2015 Butch Furse

2014 Clarence Hebda
2014 Ted Heuttmann (posthumously)
2014 Kathleen Rutledge

2013 William C. Nuckolls
2013 Dewaine Gahan (posthumously)
2012 Kent Warneke
2012 Jim Seacrest
2012 Dick Lindberg
2011 Leslie Dale Falter
2011 Charlyne Berens
2010 Alton “Mook” Wilhelms
2010 Dean Terrill

2009 Fred Rose
2009 Will Norton, Jr.
2009 Gene Morris
2009 Shirley Bogue
2009 Norris Alfred
2008 Alan Cunningham McIntosh
2008 J. Alan Cramer
2008 Zean E. Carney
2007 Elia Wilkinson Peattie
2007 Frank L. Partsch
2007 George Miller
2007 Mildred Brown
2006 Lee Warneke
2006 Bud Pagel
2006 Burt James
2006 Viola Drath
2006 Bob Bogue
2005 Gilbert Savery
2005 Kenneth Rhoades
2005 Robert Pinkerton
2005 Keith Blackledge
2004 Carroll, “Cal” Stewart
2004 Jerry Huse
2004 Ronald R. Furse
2004 John F. Edgecombe, Sr.
2003 Henry Trysla
2003 Reed O’Hanlon Jr.
2003 Sterling H. McCaw
2003 Will Owens Jones
2002 Allen D. Strunk
2002 Eugene Robb
2002 Charles Moore
2002 Walter Christenson
2001 Jack Thompson
2001 John G. Neihardt
2001 Loral Johnson
2001 Earle “Buddy” Bunker
2000 Jack Pollock
2000 Paul F. Wagner
2000 Charles Summer “Cy” Sherman

1999 Harvey Newbranch
1999 William Mccleery
1999 Fred A. Seaton
1998 Emil W. Reutzel, Jr.
1998 J. Sterling Morton
1997 Barney Oldfield
1997 Willa Cather
1997 William J. Bryan
1995 Don Bryant
1994 Jack Tarr
1994 Tom Allan
1993 Neale Copple
1993 Mentor Brown
1992 Jim Raglin
1992 Henry Mead
1990 Reva Evans
1990 W. F. Cramb

1989 Jack Lowe
1988 Mary Packwood
1988 Gregg McBride
1988 Harold W. Andersen
1987 Lester A. Walker
1987 Joe R. Seacrest
1987 Ruth Best Pagel
1987 Gene Kemper
1987 Tyler Edgecombe
1987 Glenn A. Buck

1975 John Hyde Sweet
1975 Harry D. Strunk
1975 Emerson R. Purcell
1975 Dr. George L. Miller
1975 Walt Mason
1975 Earl M. Marvin
1975 John Alexander MacMurphy
1975 James E. Lawrence
1975 Gene Huse
1975 Edgar Howard
1975 Gilbert M. Hitchcock
1975 Charles H. Gere
1975 Art C. Gardner
1975 Frank 0. Edgecombe
1975 August F. Buechier
1975 Dr. A. L. Bixby
1975 Bess Furman Armstrong