Master Editor-Publisher Recipients


LINCOLN, April 20, 2018 — The highest honor that can be bestowed upon members by the Nebraska Press Association (NPA) has been awarded to Charlyne Berens, emeriti professor and associate dean of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln’s College of Journalism and Mass Communications. She retired from teaching at UNL in 2014, where she taught writing, reporting and editing. Berens was editor and co-publisher of the Seward Co. Independent from 1976-1990. She has served as Nebraska Press Associate president, and in 2011 was inducted into the Nebraska Journalism Hall of Fame.

At an April 20 awards banquet, attended by more than 130 journalists, Berens was awarded the Master Editor-Publisher Award. She is the 47th person so cited by the NPA, the state’s oldest trade association, which is comprised of all 166 daily and weekly newspapers in Nebraska.

This award is presented to any person, who at the time of the selection is a present or former publisher or editor of a weekly or daily Nebraska newspaper.

The selection is based on the following criteria:

  • The nominee has worked hard and lived honorably.
  •  The nominee has thought soundly and influenced unselfishly.
  •  The nominee, through his or her newspaper connections, has been active in a variety of ways in his or her community or in the state or nation. This may or may not include being active in press association affairs.
  •  The nominee has been a practitioner of his or her craft in the production of a quality newspaper product.


2017 John Edgecombe, Jr., Geneva

2016 Greg Viergutz, Gothenburg

2015 Elna Johnson, Imperial

2014 Gene Morris, McCook

2013 Ted M. Gill, Arapahoe
2012 Donald R. Russell, Sutton
2011 Zean Carney, Wahoo
2010 Gilbert M. Savery , Lincoln

2009 Dean Dorsey, Cozad
2008 John Gottschalk, Omaha
2007 Theodore “Ted” Huettmann, Wisner
2006 William Nuckolls, Fairbury
2005 R.L.Butch Furse, Aurora
2004 Dick Lindberg, West Point
2003 Clancy Hebda, Lincoln
2002 Alton “Mook” Wilhelms, Stromsburg
2001 Loral Johnson, Imperial
2000 Ken Rhoades, Blair

1999 Arnie Kuhn, Hemingford
1998 Lloyd Reeves, Crete
1997 Jerry Huse, Norfolk
1996 Lee Warneke, Plainview
1995 Bob Pinkerton, Kimball
1994 Doug Duncan, Papillion
1993 Jack Pollock, Ogallala
1992 David Beliles, Grand Island
1991 Jack Tarr, David City
1990 Fred Rose, Ainsworth

1989 Norris Alfred, Polk
1988 Ray Dover, Valentine
1987 Henry Trysla, South Sioux City
1986 Henry Mead, Seward
1985 Everette Waters, Bertrand
1984 Joe R. Seacrest, Lincoln
1983 George Miller, Plattsmouth
1982 Dwight King, Holdrege
1981 Bob Bogue, Oakland
1980 J. Alan Cramer, Wayne

1979 Harold Andersen, Omaha
1978 Lyman P. Cass, Ravenna
1977 Jack Lowe, Sidney
1976 James Kirkman, North Platte
1975 Ronald R. Furse, Aurora
1974 Jack Lough, Albion
1973 Fred Seaton, Hastings
1972 Joe W. Seacrest, Lincoln