

Nebraska Newspaper Hall of Fame

Deadline for nominations is February 17, 2014.

It is time to nominate distinguished journalists for our Hall of Fame. This is a most appropriate way to honor those who have honored us by their contributions to our profession and to our state and nation.

Please enter the name(s) of one or more persons you believe deserve this honor.

Here are the rules:

1. Persons living or dead may be nominated.

2. Nominees should have made a significant contribution to print, their communities and/or their state and nation.

3. Nominees may come from any facet of the newspaper business, such as news, business, management, photography or any combinations.

4. Nominees must have spent a significant percentage of their newspaper careers in Nebraska.

Some other considerations of importance:

••Winners of the Master Editor-Publisher Award are **not** automatically nominated.

••Nominees not selected this year will automatically be eligible for consideration the following year, but no longer than that.

••Nominations may come from persons not affiliated with NPA.

••Additions to the Hall of Fame may or may not be an annual event and there is no established maximum or minimum number for admission at one time.

<u>Nominations must include</u> a completed form (see reverse), a detailed biography of the nominee and other appropriate documentation.

The selection committee will consist of the president of Nebraska Press Association who shall be chairman, the vice president, and the immediate past president of the association, the Dean of the University of Nebraska Journalism College, and one other representative of the Journalism College selected by the Dean. In the event a member of the committee cannot serve, the NPA president shall appoint a replacement for that year.

Send nominations to: Susan Watson Nebraska Press Association 845 "S" St., Lincoln, NE 68508-1226

Previous winners include: Norris Alfred, Tom Allan, Harold Andersen, Bess Furman Armstrong, Charlyne Radke Berens, Dr. A. L. Bixby, Keith Blackledge, Bob Bogue, Shirley Brown Bogue, Mentor Brown, William Jennings Bryan, Don Bryant, Glenn A. Buck, August F. Buechler, Earle "Buddy" Bunker, Zean Carney, Willa Cather, Neale Copple, W.F. Cramb, Walter Christenson, J. Alan Cramer, Viola Herms Drath, Frank O. Edgecombe, John Edgecombe, Sr., Tyler Edgecombe, Reva Evans, Leslie Dale Falter, Ronald R. Furse, Dewaine Gahan, Art C. Gardner, Charles H. Gere, Gilbert M. Hitchcock, Edgar Howard, Gene Huse, Jerry Huse, Burt James, Loral Johnson, Will Owen Jones, Gene Kemper, James E. Lawrence, Dick Lindberg, Jack Lowe, Earl M. Marvin, John Alexander MacMurphy, Walt Mason, Gregg McBride, Sterling H. McCaw, William McCleery, Alan Cunningham McIntosh, Henry Mead, Dr. George L. Miller, Charles Mohr, Gene Morris, J. Sterling Morton, John G. Nieghardt, Harvey E. Newbranch, Will Norton, Jr., William C. "Bill" Nuckolls, Reed O'Hanlon, Jr., Barney Oldfield, Mary Blythe Packwood, Bud Pagel, Ruth Best Pagel, Robert J. Pinkerton, Jack Pollock, Emerson R. Purcell, Jim Raglin, Emil W. Reutzel, Jr., Kenneth Hilton Rhoades, Eugene Robb, Fred W. Rose, Gilbert Savery, James C. Seacrest, Joe R. Seacrest, Fred Seaton, Charles Sumner "Cy" Sherman, Carroll "Cal" Stewart, Allen D. Strunk, Harry D. Strunk, John Hyde Sweet, Jack Tarr, Jack Thompson, Henry Trysla, Paul F. Wagner, Lester A. Walker, Kent Warneke, Lee Warneke, H. J. Wisner and Asa B. Wood.

What is the Hall of Fame?

The Hall of Fame was started in 1973 by Jack Lowe, retired longtime editor and co-publisher of the Sidney Telegraph. The Hall of Fame will honor persons who have distinguished themselves in printed journalism. It was one of the projects of the Jack Lowe Community Journalism Fund at the University of Nebraska College of Journalism and Mass Communications. Since the Hall of Fame has started, it has inducted 85 journalists.

NEBRASKA JOURNALISM HALL OF FAME NOMINATION

DATE:
YOUR NAME:
YOUR NEWSPAPER:
NAME OF NOMINEE:
NEWSPAPER:
NOMINEE'S ADDRESS:
CONTACT OR NEXT OF KIN FOR POSTHUMOUS NOMINATION:
NOMINEE OR CONTACT TELEPHONE:

Biography of your nominee. (Please include all required data on the individual nominated and follow the enclosed rules.)

2014

Nominations must be received by February 17, 2014.