

Nebraska Press Association

845 "S" Street/Lincoln, NE 68508 Phone: 402-476-2851, NE: 800-369-2850 FAX: 402-476-2942 Web Site: http://www.nebpress.com e-mail: nebpress@nebpress.com



RELEASE: After 5:00 p.m. Friday, April 11, 2014

FROM: Nebraska Press Association 845 "S" Street Lincoln, NE 68508-1226 1-800-369-2850 or 402-476-2851 For information contact: Jenelle Plachy

LINCOLN — Jim Holland, Publisher of the Scottsbluff Star-Herald, has been elected president of the Nebraska Press Association. Jim Holland succeeds Rod Worrell of the Ainsworth Star-Journal. He was elected at the state press convention Friday in Lincoln. He has been a board member since 2008.

Other officers elected were, Dennis Morgan, Publisher of the Elgin Review, vice president; Jason Frederick, Co-Publisher of the Trenton Hitchcock County News, treasurer.

New to the board for a three year term are Tom Shaal, Publisher of the Alliance Times-Herald; Lori Pankonin, Co-Publisher of the Imperial Republican; and Terrie Baker, Publisher of the Lexington Clipper-Herald. Rod Worrell, Publisher of the Ainsworth Star-Journal, will serve as immediate past president.

Continuing their terms as board of directors of NPA are: Peggy Year, Co-Publisher of the Hartington Cedar County News; Jim Dean, Publisher of the Columbus Telegram; and Kevin Zadina, Publisher of the Seward County Independent.

Elected by the Nebraska Press Advertising Service (NPAS) were:

President: Mike Edgecombe, Publisher of the Hebron Journal-Register and Shary Skiles, Publisher of the McCook Gazette, vice president.

New to the board for a three year term is Chris Rhoades, General Manager, South Sioux City Dakota County Star.

Continuing their terms on the board of directors of NPAS are: Gerri Peterson, Publisher of the Mullen Hooker County Tribune; Greg Awtry, Publisher of the York News-Times; and Tory Duncan, Editor of the Sutton Clay County News. Tom Kelly, Publisher of the West Point News, will serve as immediate past president.

Allen J. Beermann is executive director of both organizations.

The Nebraska Press Association membership includes 173 weekly and daily newspapers with a total paid circulation in excess of 527,000 persons. It was founded in 1873. NPAS includes all of the NPA membership and was founded in 1951.