

Nebraska Press Association

845 "S" Street/Lincoln, NE 68508 Phone: 402-476-2851, NE: 800-369-2850 FAX: 402-476-2942 Web Site: http://www.nebpress.com e-mail: nebpress@nebpress.com



RELEASE: Friday, April 22, 2016, <u>anytime after 8:30 p.m.</u>

FROM: Nebraska Press Association 845 "S" Street Lincoln, NE 68508-1226 1-800-369-2850 or 402-476-2851

KEARNEY — The highest honor that can be bestowed upon members by the Nebraska Press Association (NPA) has been awarded to Greg Viergutz, former publisher of the Gothenburg Times, and past president of both the Nebraska Press Association and the Nebraska Press Advertising Service.

At an April 22 awards banquet, attended by more than 130 journalists, Viergutz was awarded the Master Editor-Publisher Award. She is the 45th person so cited by the NPA, the state's oldest trade association, which is comprised of all 169 daily and weekly newspapers in Nebraska.

Previous winners of the Master Editor-Publisher Award are: The late Joe W. Seacrest of Lincoln The late Fred Seaton of Hastings The late Jack Lough of Albion The late Ronald R. Furse of Aurora The late James W. Kirkman of North Platte The late Jack Lowe of Sidney The late Lyman P. Cass of Ravenna Harold W. Andersen of Omaha J. Alan Cramer of Wayne The late Robert Bogue of Oakland The late H. Dwight King of Holdrege The late George Miller of Plattsmouth The late Joe R. Seacrest of Lincoln The late Everette Waters of Bertrand The late Henry Mead of Seward The late Henry Trysla of South Sioux City The late Ray Dover of Valentine The late Norris Alfred of Polk The late Fred Rose of Ainsworth The late Jack Tarr of David City David Beliles of Grand Island

The late Jack Pollock of Ogallala The late Doug Duncan of Papillion Bob Pinkerton of Kimball Lee Warneke of Plainview Jerry Huse of Norfolk The late Lloyd Reeves of Crete The late Arnie Kuhn of Hemingford Ken Rhoades of Blair The late Loral Johnson of Imperial Alton "Mook" Wilhelms of Stromsburg Clancy Hebda of Fullerton Richard Lindberg of West Point R.L. "Butch" Furse of Aurora William C. Nuckolls of Fairbury The late Theodore "Ted" Huettmann of Wisner John Gottschalk of Omaha Dean Dorsey of Cozad Gilbert M. Savery of Lincoln Zean Carney of Wahoo Donald L. Russell of Sutton Ted Gill of Arapahoe Gene Morris of Norfolk Elna Johnson of Imperial

The Nebraska Press Association is proud to call Greg Viergutz the 45th Master Editor-Publisher.