Nebraska Press Association Foundation



845 "S" Street, Lincoln, NE 68508 Phone 402-476-2851, NE: 800-369-2850, Fax: 402-476-2942



RELEASE: Anytime after 1:00 p.m. Friday, April 22, 2016.

KEARNEY – The Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award was created and funded by Zean & Marilyn Carney, former publishers of the Wahoo Newspaper, Waverly News, Ashland Gazette, and David City Banner-Press and Past President of the Nebraska Press Association.

This award is awarded to four nominees from the weekly or daily categories. The nominees must be reporters, editors, photographers, graphic designers, production or advertising professionals who have worked for at least one year with a legal Nebraska newspaper.

A select panel of judges appointed by the Executive Director of NPA/NPAS considered among other items, the nominee's professionalism, creativity, comments or statements on goals, impact of their work on print journalism, the community of journalistic excellence.

The first place winner for the Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award, in the weekly category, is Tessa Burgener, Aurora News-Register. An excerpt from her nomination reads: "I think my biggest goal and the most rewarding, is using my position as editor at the News-Register to mentor and teach our new employees." The judge said: "Tessa's combined reporting, editing and digital media talents, and leadership as news editor are the basis for her winning this award."

The second place winner of the Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award, weekly category, is Mark Vrbicky, Pender Times. An excerpt from Mark's nomination reads: "The experience I've gained at the Pender Times will only help me as I continue to push myself to be the best journalist I can be." An excerpt from the judges' comments reads: "Mark graduated from college hoping for a radio job. Fortunately for newspaper journalism and The Pender Times, he chose a job in print media that gave him the opportunity to utilize his multimedia talents."

The winner for the Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award in the daily category, is Kyle Cummings of the Alliance Times-Herald. An excerpt from his nomination form reads: "I care about the people of Alliance and I care about the community, which has truly inspired me to give back everything I have in the best way I know how - journalism." An excerpt from the judge's comments reads: "One of his nominating letters credits Kyle's work with winning back readers who had dropped from three circulation rolls. That in itself makes the work prizeworthy."

The second place winner of the Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award, daily category, is Kamie Stephen, North Platte Telegraph. An excerpt from Kamie's nomination reads: "I feel it's both an honor and an obligation to gather, compile and share the facts of what's happening in the world around us. I've been given an incredible opportunity to make a difference in the world one word at a time, and that's what I want to continue to do." An excerpt from the judges' comments reads: "Kamie Stephen is another fine example of the value of good community journalists."

The Outstanding Young Nebraska Journalist Award was awarded Friday, April 22, 2016, at the Nebraska Press Association's 142nd Annual Convention at the Holiday Inn & Convention Center in Kearney, NE.

-30-